Response to CARM: Difficult questions, part 11

5 Sep

I have recently been pointed to a website called Christian Apologetics & Research Ministry as an excellent location to learn LDS doctrine. On this website they have many pages dedicated to what they call exposing the truth of Mormonism. Most of what they present is well thought out, and they use many quotes and documents to support it. When they are simply giving a list of quotes they don’t do too bad. When they try to interpret those quotes and explain doctrine they fail almost completely. So I am starting a new series in which I will address a selection of pages from that website.

This next page is titled “Difficult Questions For Mormons to Answer.” It is a series of questions that are supposed to stump members of the LDS church. There are 32 questions total. Most are followed by a few quotes that try to establish the subject in question. The first part of my response will be a comment on the quotes given, and this will be in green.

 

Q. If Mormons can become gods why does Isaiah 43: 10 say, “You are My witnesses,” declares the LORD, “And My servant whom I have chosen, So that you may know and believe Me And understand that I am He. Before Me there was no God formed, And there will be none after Me.”

A. No quotes are given. While I prefer the KJV I see no need to give it here as it will not affect my answer.

This verse must be considered in proper perspective. God, as a title for the Supreme Being, is applied only to the Father. For us there is no other God. There was never one before Him, nor will there be after. We have but one, and always will. But this does not mean that others do not exist in a state of godhood, or Celestial perfection.

It is just like our earthly fathers. I have only one Father. I never had any other, and I never will have any other. So, before my father there was no father for me, and there will be no father for me after him. That does not preclude others from having their own fathers.

See my post regarding the Godhead for more information.

Q. Why do Mormons emphasize part of the Word of Wisdom and ignore the part forbidding the eating of meat except in winter, cold or famine? (Doc. & Cov. 89:12, 13).

A. No quote is given.

I like my mother’s answer to this question. It is always winter in my fridge.

People who ask questions like this are trying to “make a man an offender for a word” as they demand the letter of the law as the Pharisees did. Yet, they do not understand the spirit by which the law was given.

The Word of Wisdom is, first and foremost, a health code. The spirit of that law is to live well and eat healthily. When the revelation was given they did not have refrigeration. Meat putrefies very quickly when not frozen. So, in the 1830’s people were counseled by God not to eat meat except in dire need (famine) or when it could be effectively preserved (winter). In our day we have refrigeration and meat can be preserved very effectively for extended periods of time, even in the heat of summer. As such, in keeping with the Spirit of the law, we eat meat only in dire need (famine) or when it can be effectively preserved (refrigerated).

*This question is answered in the response be S.H.I.E.L.D.S. I will address that in a later post, so keep an eye out for it.

Leave a Reply

