Anti-Mormon Insecurities

13 May

This blog will feature a complaint that I have and so will be more a complaint than anything else. It is something that I have encountered many times, though I was reminded of it again recently as I replied to another blog.

To set the stage let me explain what recently happened. I will not name the blog, though I will make some quotes from it. The author of this blog was writing about Glenn Beck’s speech at Liberty University, mentioning the many points of LDS doctrine he didn’t mention and ridiculing him for it. Of course, almost nothing he stated was accurate, and I pointed this out. When he asked for an example I addressed every point he made, the first being the claim that we some how hold the Bible in low regard and lesser than our other scriptures. So, I gave this explanation:

The Bible is the first and great of all scriptures, and it is held in that position by the church. It is placed first in our scriptural collection; we spend two years studying it in Sunday school (as apposed to one for the Book of Mormon, one for the Doctrine and Covenants, and never actually studying the Pearl of Great Price separate from the others). We are told to read the Bible continually, and it is quoted frequently by all the leaders of the church.
Yes, we believe that it does not contain all God’s revealed word or doctrine, and that over the years some errors have entered the text…None of this diminishes its greatness, however, and all the other scripture we have was given to us for the purpose of supporting and proving the Bible. Without the Bible we have no religion.

I actually responded to a number of points, but the author refused to let any of the others be posted, saying “Rather than let you blather on with a long-winded post, let’s take these on one at a time, so that you won’t deceive people.” Notice that before saying anything else he makes a personal attack against my character and motivation. His only argument against what I said was as follows:

it is a complete lie to state that “The Bible is the first and great of all scriptures, and it is held in that position by the church,” while believing that it is also “missing many plain and precious truths.” Do the Mormons say the same thing about the Book of Mormon, the Pearl of Great Price, or the Doctrine and Covenants? The answer is NO!

Therefore, the Bible is on the bottom of the stack when it comes to Mormon allegiance.

In my next post I pointed out that we never claimed that all truth was contained in any single volume of scripture. All of our scriptures lack certain plain and precious things, which is why we have the other volumes, to teach us these things. Thus his argument was invalid. I also gave links to two conference talks in which the greatness of the Bible is declared (The Miracle of the Bible; My Words…Never Cease).

Of course my post containing these links and the proof that the author was simply wrong in their assertions regarding our beliefs was never allowed to be posted. It was blocked completely, and the author posted the following: “Since all shematwater the Mormon wants to do is continue throwing about specious accusations and personal attacks, his posts will no longer be published.” He then gives three quotes that he claims proves his point. His first is from Joseph Smith when he said the Book of Mormon was the most correct book, and then he gives one from Donald B. Doty, in which he says the reason for this was the clarity of the doctrine taught in the Book of Mormon. Of course he also gives a quote that says the best translation of the Bible is the Joseph Smith Translation, which I am not sure how he thinks this denigrates the Bible.

I was banned from ever posting again on this blog. Now, I realize that the claim was made that all I want to do is attack and accuse, but with the evidence so clearly proving the author wrong one can’t help but consider that I was banned because I was able to do so. This is something I have noticed on several other blogs as well. Those who know the doctrine and can actually prove wrong the false ideas spread by those who are trying to destroy the church are either blocked or ignored. On another blog I engaged a number of posters on many subjects, only to have then claim a month or so later than no one was able to reply to their statements on those subjects (I was also banned from that site for too frequently pointing out their error). Another blog gave a list of questions they said the story of the restoration raised. I proceeded to answer every single question, and yet in their next blog they said they had raised ‘uncomfortable questions’ for Mormons, completely ignoring what I had said (and also refusing to let some of my comments be posted).

One of the reasons I started this blog was that I was tired of being ignored and blocked in declaring the truth. This blog is just there to voice a complaint concerning a particular annoyance, and I will leave it at that.

6 Responses to “Anti-Mormon Insecurities”

  1. Agellius May 16, 2014 at 11:06 pm #

    I too despise comment censorship (other than for reasons of obscenity, incivility and spam).

    • shematwater May 18, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

      Some censorship I can understand. If my comments had been nothing but snide remarks and personal attacks with nothing of substance or response to the points at hand I would have understood it. I also understand that sometimes a post gets overly long and to keep the discussion focused some of the flourishes and side tracks need to be cut down, or separated into different posts.
      My main complaint is being completely blocked, and then being falsely accused of incivility as a means to justify the action.

  2. Anthony Baker June 5, 2014 at 3:29 am #

    How sad! I hope you have noticed that none of your comments have been blocked on my blog. As a matter of fact, I welcome them 😉 Hey, if for no other reason than to boost my numbers, right (that’s a joke…sorta). There is nothing wrong with expressing one’s disagreement, just as long as the conversation is civil and respectful. Of course, when it gets to the point of vulgarity and name-calling, well that’s a different story.

    My blog is one where I simply state what I believe, Rarely do I go to the blogs of those with opposing views and challenge them. However, when one challenges my own views, I do my best to respond with grace, if not a lot of patience (when dealing with rabid atheists). If I don’t know an answer, I am happy to admit it.

    For the record, I respect Glenn Beck greatly. I even voted for Mitt Romney despite the fact that I had serious problems with his personal faith. But on the other hand, I was at least willing to vote for a man of whom I knew what he believed, a moral man, a patriotic man, and not someone who used Christianity as a tool to garner votes (that’s my opinion, but one about I feel very strongly). But when it comes to specific doctrines and theology, I will not apologize for taking a strong stand against what I perceive to be gross error, even if it means I have to stand at odds with essentially good, moral people.

    Again, I don’t go looking for fights; I don’t force people to read my articles. On the other hand, it wouldn’t say much about my own faith if I censored every one who disagreed with me, now would it?

    That’s my 2 cents.

    • shematwater June 7, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

      Some might say I seek out fights, as I do browse various blogs and pot on those things that I feel need to be addressed. I always do so as politely as I can and I stick to the facts, or clearly state what I am saying is my opinion.
      I am always wiling to discuss anything with anyone, as long as it is civil, and I will not ban anyone from commenting on my blogs as long as they follow that rule.

  3. robinobishop June 19, 2014 at 11:56 pm #

    I have had one blog owner delete my comment as I post them, every one of them without comment at all. I have been through mediation hell while others automatically post around me. I have had others post that I should be blocked because I was not agreeable enough and think myself as intelligent….blah blah blah.

  4. robinobishop August 5, 2014 at 5:49 am #

    Luke Chapter 12
    51 Suppose ye that I am come to give peace on earth? I tell you, Nay; but rather division:
    52 For from henceforth there shall be five in one house divided, three against two, and two against three.
    53 The father shall be divided against the son, and the son against the father; the mother against the daughter, and the daughter against the mother; the mother in law against her daughter in law, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.

Leave a Reply

